Delta State Releases N120 Million To Six Technical Colleges

November 21, 2013 6:36 PM

89 0

The Delta State Government in partnership with the World Bank and European Union has released the sum of N120 million to 6 technical colleges in the state.

The presentation ceremony held at Saint Patrick’s College, Asaba, on Thursday with the principals of the 6 schools receiving 20million Naira cheque each.

The Commissioner for Finance, Olorogun Kenneth Okpara who presented the cheques on behalf of the state, pointed out that the effort will help strengthen education and enhance job creation in the state.

He also emphasized that the grants which will span through a period of 5years is to enable the technical colleges key into the industrialization focus of the ‘Delta Beyond Oil’ vision.

The State Employment and Expenditure for Results, SEEFOR project which is a product of the Delta State Government in partnership with the World Bank and European Union has been involved in building human capital development, as a sustainable approach to solving the problem of unemployment.

In his address, the State Coordinator for SEEFOR, Mr Benson Ojoko urged the 6 beneficiary schools – Otagba-Ogbe Technical College, Agbor Technical College, Issele-Uku Technical College, Sapele Technical College, Fagbemi Technical College and Ogor Technical College to make judicious use of the funds and be able to deliver results.

Also present at the event was the Commissioner for Basic Education and the Commissioner for Youths, Professor Patrick Muobaghare and Ebifa Ijeoma. The Commissioner for Education, in his good will message assured that the ministry would monitor the colleges and ensure that the funds are well utilized.


To category page